Save $5 Today Use Code: Medcardnow

What to do with weed in Colorado

Marijuana is legal in Colorado, but you must not follow the rules. Users will also need to understand marijuana dispensaries and Colorado before consuming their weed.

In this article, we will brief you on the essentials of using marijuana in Colorado.

Understanding the laws

In Colorado, you must be 21 years and older to buy recreational cannabis. Adults can also legally possess up to 1 ounce of bud at a time. Moreover, you must be a Colorado resident with a qualifying condition.

Making a legal purchase

The only place where you can find legal marijuana is at a licensed dispensary. There are many adult-use dispensaries in the state. These dispensaries offer lots of different products including flowers and gummies.

Dispensaries in Colorado also have “budtenders,” who help customers with their purchases. Before buying from a licensed dispensary, you must show valid identification to verify your age and identity. Getting a good understanding of the marijuana dispensary and Colorado will keep you safe.

Consuming marijuana

Marijuana products with THC are legal in Colorado. However, you can’t transport it to other states because it’s still federally illegal. So, if you smoke weed in Colorado, you can’t send it to your best friend abroad.

Here are some guidelines to help you understand marijuana dispensaries and Colorado:

The do’s

  • Check local laws: Regulations are different in each town and municipality in Colorado. For example, some cities don’t allow you to smoke in open spaces. 
  • Stay with friends or family: You can legally use marijuana in private homes depending on the landlord.
  • Visit a licensed hospitality business: Colorado permits residents to consume at certain business places. The details of such places are usually open to cannabis consumers in Colorado.

The Don’ts

  • Consume cannabis on federal property: National parks, museums, ski slopes, hiking, and biking trails are federal property. Since marijuana is illegal at federally illegal, these zones are out of bounds.
  • Consume in public, outdoor places: Colorado laws don’t allow cannabis consumption under the eyes of pedestrians. You don’t have to consume in public spaces such as concert venues, parks, streets, and more. Eating edibles in public spaces is not something you should do either. Regardless, licensed hospitality businesses offer spaces for weed consumers to freely smoke.
  • Smoke in a car: Consuming marijuana and driving is not something you should do. It’s illegal and unsafe. Furthermore, smoking in a car can lead to accidents.

Driving under the influence of cannabis

Be knowledgeable and wait for at least six hours after smoking before driving.  After consuming edibles or drinkables, wait for at least eight hours. Also, if you take an Uber, don’t use weed in the car.

When transporting your buds back from the dispensary, ensure they are in a safe container. The weed should be sealed and unused, just as you would with alcohol. You can best preserve them by placing them in the car trunk.

Like alcohol, driving under the influence of marijuana has negative consequences, so stay safe.