Medical marijuana is legal in Texas, but the state’s medical-marijuana program is slow in comparison to other states. Nonetheless, this won’t stop Texans from accessing low-THC medical marijuana.
In this article, we will focus on the legality and the various qualifying conditions for medical marijuana in Texas with a medical card.
What is legal in Texas?
While it’s illegal to purchase recreational marijuana in the state, it’s legal to use medical marijuana. Doctors can prescribe medical marijuana with up to 0.5 percent THC. However, patients will need to qualify under the Compassionate Use Program.
Many Texans don’t have access to medical marijuana, but this could change. If the government passes Texas House Bill 1535 more Texans to find relief with medical marijuana.
Who qualifies for medical marijuana in Texas?
According to the Compassionate Use Program Texans with the following conditions qualify for medical marijuana. These conditions include.
- Peripheral neuropathy
- Alzheimer’s and other dementias
- Cerebral palsy and other detrimental neurodegenerative conditions
Texans with one of these conditions will still face some barriers before getting cannabis. For example, you cannot walk into a marijuana dispensary in Texas and buy low-THC medical cannabis. The Texas Health Services notes that the compassionate use program only works for patients under the following.
- You must be a permanent Texas resident
- You must suffer from one of the approved medical conditions
- A physician under the compassionate use program must make the prescription
- Your physician must acknowledge that the benefit of medical cannabis outweighs the risks of consumption
How do I become a patient?
Texans who meet the requirements for a prescription will need to do the following.
Write down an application to discover a qualifying doctor in your area. The TOCC team usually sends an email with local and telemedicine options.
When you book an appointment, contact TOCC’s friendly dispensary team to receive a schedule. Patients can benefit from first-time patient discounts. Patients also get 20 percent off their first order and buy one, get one 50 percent off your next order.
Regardless of what you choose, a marijuana dispensary in Texas sells quality, consistent, and pure cannabis.
Can I smoke medical marijuana in Texas?
Moreover, using low THC medical marijuana requires only oral ingestion. It’s illegal for patients to smoke their prescribed medicine. The Texas Department of Public Safety doesn’t deny minors from gaining access to the compassionate use program. However, individuals below eighteen years of age may require the consent of a parent or guardian.
Although Texas is progressing in its strides to legalize medical marijuana, it still faces some barriers. Texas has one of the strictest cannabis regulations in the nation. Nonetheless, cannabis enthusiasts are hopeful that Texas lawmakers favor them. Cannabis legalization at the federal level may impact the laws in Texas and give wider access to cannabis. Furthermore, patients with at least one qualifying condition should not undergo a lengthy process to gain access. Future changes to the medical marijuana policies in Texas are necessary.