When you apply for a medical marijuana card, your data is stored in a Medical Marijuana Use Registry. This secure online database safeguards the information of physicians and marijuana patient.
To get medical marijuana in California, you have to follow four basic steps:
- Apply for the program using the Medical Marijuana Registry.
- Qualify for one of the listed medical conditions for medical marijuana.
- Pay for a medical marijuana ID card.
- Get medical marijuana from a licensed dispensary in your state.
The first step to become a medical marijuana patient is to register. First, create a profile in the Medical Marijuana Registry.
Your profile includes basic information including legal name, address, and contact information. You must also present a valid driver’s license, or an ID card.
After completing the Medical Marijuana Registry, afterwards you have gain approval from physician. This should be one of the qualifying conditions that is bothering you.
Legit physicians can also access the Medical Marijuana Registry as well as submit their certifications straight into the system.
Medical marijuana doctors in California are required to register with the Department of Health. If you are a medical marijuana doctor in California and not registered with the Department of Health, then ensure to gain certification.
Qualifying Medical Conditions
Each state has its qualifying conditions for medical marijuana. To gain qualification, you must be suffering from one of these medical conditions and become included in the medical marijuana registry. These conditions include.
- HIV / AIDS.
- Inflammatory bowel disease.
- Multiple sclerosis.
- Parkinson’s disease.
- Post-traumatic stress disorder.
- Sickle cell anemia.
There are more conditions that qualify you for medical marijuana just check the laws of your state.
Medical Marijuana Caregivers
It’s easy to complete the Medical Marijuana Registry application. After that you can assign two caregivers who can obtain medical marijuana. Caregivers usually include spouses, parents, or friends. Caregivers are valid for marijuana patient under the age of 18.
Caregivers should also apply for the medical marijuana program. All caregivers must pass a background check to become valid.
Pay for your documents
After your certification by an approved physician there still some work. Return to the Medical Marijuana Registry and finish your medical marijuana application.
Medical marijuana ID card costs $50. You may also gain free discounts if you participate in assistance programs.
First time medical marijuana registry
So, you have your recommended physician and looking for what to do next. Return to the Medical Marijuana Registry and pay for your medical marijuana ID card. This step is suitable for first time registrations who lack knowledge on medical marijuana.
Renewing a Registration
You’ll receive a notification on payment information 30 days before your annual payment is due. This notification will tell you the due date that usually comes weeks before expiration date. If you don’t pay by that date, you will not be an active member. But you can easily reactivate your card by logging in and paying the annual payment.